Saturday, July 4, 2015

Going faceless without Facebook

I have deactivated by Facebook account! That sums up this blog! :)

There are multiple reasons for my action. Top 10 being -

1) Too little friends circle
2) More family members than friends (duh!)
3) Got mixed up career guys and family guys thus anything that I post gets misinterpreted in various manner ! :(
4) Dont know what to write :-/
5) The minute I put photos of kids, they fall sick (Jinx??)
6) Even if I put a post too little people look, like or comment back! :-((
7) It hurts to see people happy around me when I am sad (haan? Whatta sadist I am)
8) Instigates jealousy of people who go around the world (Ambaani nahin... sirf bhambani hai, bhambaani...!!)
9) Reminds me of some bitter incident in the past when I see people in FB - mostly me hurting them than the other way
10) Got into Whatsapp actively - anyway it is family members naa... finding this easier than FB

But ... am being mocked by Chinni that I have become too old to use FB thats why deactivated it!! Podi! (go girl in Tamil but in a scolding manner)

Here is an interesting analysis here that shows the reasons for not using social medias -
Top reason being "Not relevant to my business" at 29% and surprisingly "Not familiar how it works" at 24% (Yeah no wonder the top notch CEO are still the 1990 guyz, not the millennials). But the response did not have "Jealousy" as a reason??!! May be am the only one and thus doesnt fit the graph.



Anybody wanting to deactivate theirs... here is a link to help you achieve it - https://www.facebook.com/help/214376678584711

Join the club!!

Image courtesy - http://startupmeme.com/omg-you-dont-use-facebook/ Nice post BTW, but am NOT reactivating my account.

While pondering about this, something struck in my mind. The language is getting improvised day by day based on the current trend and youngsters taste. So why all the way say... Deactivated and Reactivated instead of just making it 'Dactivate' and 'Ractivate'?? duh!

Friday, July 3, 2015

Amritsar, I love it! - 2

Just realized that I have left the first post with a "-to be continued", so here is the completion for that part.

The second part of Amritsar is about the Golden Temple visit and Jallianwala Bagh. Before that let me give a word about the hotels. (When you google for some best hotels in particular place, you always end up with links like tripadvisor or cleartrip, etc. which just offers range of packages. The reviews are often confusing and misleading. So I always go by googling blogs where the authors like me (ahem!) will give genuine feedbacks. But gasp! even blogs have advertising motives. Anyway here is a genuine feedback that you can consider!! :) )

Our budget was nominal - around 2500 to 3000 per night. Anyway it was only one night right, so why go for packages that offer breakfast when we have planned to skip it for the sake of visiting Golden Temple? That was the thought we had. But you DO NOT get nice hotels for that range, I warn you. We stopped by several hotels near Golden Temple, and also on the Amritsar Model town - Golden tulip, Best Western, etc. There is no Lemon Tree to our disappointment. Then we decided to take Golden Tulip for Rs. 3500 per night with breakfast. But before checkin we thought of having coffee at Coffee Day. Our GPS kept on taking us here and there in the Shopping Complex area. Then finally we got down at a Baskin Robbins joint that had coffee and also Pizza. We then enroute wanted to look for some other decent hotel for lesser amount. We settled with one "KK Continental" in Albert Road which was pretty close to the main road that takes us to Golden Temple. We spent too little time to write about any review here. The room that we took was small with a comfortable AC. The bathroom was clean but not so great. But I must definitely thank the hospitality that they showed. I was sick that night! Was it because of the karaabi lunch? or was it because of the journey? or the heat? or the pizzas? i dont know... but had severe stomach ache. DH hurried down at that mid night to see for any pharma. Luckily the person at the reception gave a over the counter medicine that helped my twitching tummy some relief. Was able to sleep that night. And then just took bath and left for the day. Didnt have coffee maker, had to ask for hot water to prepare. But definitely a good hotel for moderate budget.

Our day dawned in Golden Temple. The streets are well designed to reach the temple without any
problem. A big fly over took us straight into the parking lot which was a bit away from the temple. An entire 4 floored building is provided for car parking. We made there by like 7:30 AM yet found it difficult to get a parking spot. We got down in the 4th floor while DH hunted for a spot in the terrace. There are PLENTY of battery operated tuk tuks which help us by taking to the temple for like Rs. 100. While we were waiting for DH in one vehicle, an elderly person was selling the turban cloths. Simple cloth for Rs. 10 that can be used for covering the head. It is MANDATORY to cover our heads here irrespective of the religion that you may belong. Inside the temple, people literally were pouncing on those who do not cover their head. (I used my dupatta itself). Chinni and Dittu were looking cute with this head cover!! :)
Is it really very far... or did the tuk tuk guy took us through, we dont know but it was quite a long route to the temple. We reached there to see the lovely temple. It was very much crowded even at that early hour. Huge fans with supported spout that kept sprinkling water was very reviving for the scorching may month. It took at least 2 hours for us to enter and come out. They do respect kids and older people and ask them to go ahead in the crowd. Thats very kind of the Sikh community. In fact we later realised that separate
lines for women, women and children and old aged people were being kept. We kind of moved in faster at the end thanks to Dittu and her huge cry. We didnt know how to offer prayers and thus put our hands like pranaam and came out. We must be the only people to have come out of the shrine so quick!! The shrine had four entrances, all loaded with people. Devotees were sitting inside the shrine, outside, in the path way, everywhere. Songs were being sung by priests from inside as well as outside the shrine.

They kept offering the Langar but we didnt go there. The "prasadam" sweet that they offered was too good. Forgot the name of it... was like our Thiruvadhirai Kali (halwa like sweet) with lot of ghee. We were too tired to visit the other chambers of the temple. Spotted huge fish in the pond outside which is believed to be the nectar of the temple. And people taking dips.

Then we went to take our breakfast in "Shuddh Dhaba". Alas! we didnt get any food, nor proper coffee. The pooris and parathas came after what was like ever! Then the tuk tuk guy took us to some shopping. The textile warehouse shop was loaded with people.... from south! Can hear majority Tamil and Telugu languages there with lack of Hindi knowledge. I over heard a huge uncle talking to the shop keeper "This piece... this churidhar... 1000 rupees in Saravana Stores" I dont know how much did  the shop keeper offered, but sure couldnt understand the "sasta"(low price) that his customer is talking about. Another family... only the son could speak some english. Dad and mom were talking in tamil and this guy was the mediator between them. Unlike Delhi, the Punjab province have good amount of English speaking population. With my broken Hindi... I too bargained to buy nothing though :) Then we stopped by to buy some papads. Yet to try them out to see how they taste...!!

Then we proceeded to Jallianwala Bagh...

To be continued